Month: February 2017

RAFARS Members’ Chat

The ‘Members’ Chat’ now has its own page on the RAFARS Website.

This is a fairly simple system that allows members to post and read messages and to ‘private message’ anybody who has posted a message.   No additional registration or login is required, as long as you already have a password for the Member Area and are logged in, just go to the ‘Members’ Chat’ under the Member Area menu and post your message.

Although the Webmaster doesn’t monitor this page on a 24hr basis, you can post questions here and they will be answered as soon as they are seen.

This isn’t meant to be a full ‘bulletin board’ system as previous experiments have shown that members do not require this in addition to the existing social media contact methods.

Please take a look and do post a ‘Hello’ message to prove that there really are members out there looking at the website!

RAFARS Members’ Chat

73
Gary
G0DNI
RAFARS Webmaster

Advertisements

RAFARS Member Messaging on Website

Yet another messaging system.

This time not requiring any additional registration or separate logging in! As long as you are a member of RAFARS and you are logged in to the Member Area, then you can post messages on the page. Depending on the uptake, this may be moved to its own page in due course. All the previous attempts at providing messaging functionality have failed miserably, but I’m not one to give up easily.

Type your message in the box and click on the ‘Send’ button. You won’t be able to edit your message, but you will be able to delete it if you wish.

A ‘private’ message can be sent to the poster by clicking on their callsign

The new messaging system is currently hosted on the ‘Member List’ page of the RAFARS Website at the link below – note that you have to have registered for access to the RAFARS Website Member Area to access this page.

RAFARS Website Members List

73
G0DNI
RAFARS Webmaster

Is your email address correct in QRZ?

Is your email address correct in QRZ?

A Webmaster newsletter to members resulted in 82 of the emails being ‘bounced’ because the address no longer existed.  Please check your email in the last edition of QRZ and let the RAFARS Database Manager know if it needs updating.  The new edition of QRZ will be published to members soon, so now is a good time to check.

If you are a RAFARS member and you did not receive the email newsletter sent out on Wednesday 18th January 2017 then that might indicate that the society does not have the correct email address for you.

RAFARS Contact Email Addresses Revised

The RAFARS email addresses have been revised to make it easier to get in touch with the correct council member.  A full description of the responsibilities of each post are listed on the ‘Contact RAFARS‘ page on the main website.

Awards@rafars.org – RAFARS Awards

Chairman@rafars.org – RAFARS Chairman

Clubs@rafars.org – Affiliated Clubs

Contests@rafars.org – RAFARS Contest Manager

CosfordLiaison@rafars.org – RAFARS RAF Cosford Liaison Officer

Database@rafars.org – RAFARS Database Manager

FieldReps@rafars.org – Field Representatives Manager

Membership@rafars.org – RAFARS Membership Manager

Newsdesk@rafars.org – RAFARS Newsdesk Manager

QRV@rafars.org – RAFARS QRV Journal Editor

QRZ@rafars.org – RAFARS QRZ Callbook Editor

QSLbureau@rafars.org – QSL Bureau Manager

Sales@rafars.org – RAFARS Commodities

Secretary@rafars.org – RAFARS Secretary

ServingMembers@rafars.org – RAFARS Serving Members Rep

Treasurer@rafars.org – RAFARS Treasurer

Webmaster@rafars.org – RAFARS Webmaster